Board of Directors

Michael Walsh

Mike Walsh, ABC, APR – President

Michael is the owner of Michael Walsh Communications, a public relations, social media and strategic communications consulting firm. With more than 20 years of professional communications experience, Michael was formerly vice president of Corporate Communications for U.S. Bank. Prior to that he held leadership roles in PR and communications for Capella Education Company and the Wilder Foundation. Michael holds a master's degree in business communications, as well as a bachelor's degree in print journalism, from the University of St. Thomas. He has accreditations from both IABC and PRSA.

Camie Melton Hanily – Past President

Camie is director of marketing and communications for the Hydraulics Group of Eaton Corporation where she oversees internal and external communications across a group of three global businesses. She started her career as a television news reporter before becoming a marketing communications leader in several different industries over the last fifteen years, including manufacturing, education and health care. Camie is certified in Change Management, has a master’s degree and is also a presentation coach at TEDx Minneapolis.

Andy Gardner, CMP President Elect

Andy is a Digital Communication Manager at Prime Therapeutics, where he focuses on advancing the company’s internal and external digital communication program. His skill set includes web content strategy, employee communication, user experience, web analytics, and digital capability planning. Andy holds a bachelor’s degree in mass communication from Winona State University.

Tammy L. Nienaber – VP of Professional Development

Tammy is Director of Franchisee Communications for Anytime Fitness at Self Esteem Brands. She is also owner of TLN Communicate, an independent consultancy that provides strategic communication advice to franchise brands, small businesses and nonprofits. Tammy has a master’s in business management and a bachelor’s in mass communications & public relations.

Ann Krzmarzick, ABC – CO-VP Convergence Summit

Ann has a passion for getting innovative medical technologies off the ground and into the market. She started her career as a writer at a local hospital and leans upon those skills (among many others including market research, product management, sales training and public relations) as a marketing professional for early stage companies. She is also a self-published author of a children’s book, Every Pumpkin Is Perfect. As the IABC Minnesota chapter president for 2001-2002, she led the organization to International Large Chapter of the Year.

Paul Omodt, ABC, APR, SCMP – VP Finance

Paul is Owner and Principal of Omodt & Associates Critical Communications, a full-service public relations firm. He is also an adjunct professor at the University of St. Thomas where he teaches integrated communications. He holds professional accreditations from IABC and the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). Paul earned his undergraduate degree and master's degree in business communications from the University of St. Thomas.

Anne Sonnee – VP Membership

Anne is a veteran corporate communications leader with more than 20 years of experience in both the private and public sectors. Anne’s areas of expertise include internal and external communications, crisis communications, public and media relations, event planning and team leadership. She has held strategic communications leadership roles at HealthEast Care System, Metropolitan State University and Ecolab, and is currently the Communications Director for the Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs. Anne earned a B.A. in Journalism from the University of Minnesota where she worked for the Minnesota Daily and Murphy Reporter.

Amy Spencer – VP Communications

Amy Spencer is Principal of Evo Communications, a network of independent communications consultants offering corporate communications services to clients. Evo helps clients level-up the communications function within their organization – including starting functions from the ground-up, establishing new capabilities, and moving successfully through complex changes. Prior to founding her firm in 2017, Amy spent more than 20 years in agency and corporate communications leadership roles at Kohler, Target and United Health Group. Amy earned an undergraduate degree in Journalism and Women’s Studies from the University of Wisconsin – Madison. She has a master’s degree from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University.

Ellen Vander Linden – VP Sponsorships

Ellen Vander Linden is an independent communication consultant. Her communication and marketing experience spans a variety of industries: consumer goods, health care, higher education, manufacturing, medical device, nonprofit, retail and university athletics. Prior to becoming an independent consultant, she spent nine years with consumer electronics retailer Best Buy Co., Inc. where she focused on internal communications for the company’s 150,000 employees. Ellen has served in leadership roles with IABC Minnesota and IABC Austin since 2010.

Amelia Reigstad, Ph.D., VP of Networking

Amelia is a university professor and workplace communication consultant and coach with nearly two decades of industry experience. She has spoken on a global scale and has taught a variety of PR and communications courses across the U.S., Canada, Europe and the U.K. She currently teaches strategic communication at the University of Minnesota and recently completed her Ph.D. at the University of Leicester. Reigstad has presented at numerous professional association conferences in Canada and the U.S. and is listed in the Vistage Worldwide and YPO Speaker Directory. With a passion for helping others, she consults and educates business professionals on the importance of understanding gender differences and communication styles and how this leads to more effective communication and productivity in the workplace. Amelia is available for a variety of different workshops that can be customized to meet the needs of organizations and offers one-on-one or small group coaching.

Cindy Schmieg, SCMP, IABC Fellow CO-VP Convergence Summit

Cindy is an adjunct professor for Southern New Hampshire University’s online communication master’s degree program. She has 30+ years of senior corporate, agency, and consulting experience in multiple industries. She has a master’s degree in business communication from the University of St. Thomas. She was recognized as an IABC Fellow in 2017 and has held IABC leadership positions including Minnesota chapter president 2003-2004, Pacific Plains Region director 2010-2011, International Executive Board 2013-2016, along with serving on the 2012 Career Roadmap Committee and as the 2018 Gold Quill Awards Chair.

Ianthe Zabel – Secretary

Ianthe specializes in earned media and public affairs expertise through her communications consultancy, 202 Strategy. 202 is the area code in Washington, D.C., where she spent 15 years leading integrated media relations teams on Capitol Hill, for a federal financial regulatory agency, and for the mutual fund industry. She also worked in corporate communications for UnitedHealth Group after she relocated from D.C. to Minnesota. A graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Journalism, Ianthe started her career as a local television news reporter.